Tree of Life Visualizes the Cosmos Without CGI

 

I’m working my way through the Golden Globes winning/potentially Oscar nominated films of 2011 (I still need to see Moneyball, The Artist, My Week With Marilyn, A Separation, and a few more).  I saw Tree of Life yesterday and it was pretty good.  A little long, a lot left unsaid.  I guess Sean Penn put it best:

“The screenplay is the most magnificent one that I’ve ever read but I couldn’t find that same emotion on screen. […] A clearer and more conventional narrative would have helped the film without, in my opinion, lessening its beauty and its impact.”

There is a whole segment of the movie that is set in space.  The images are particularly stunning and they draw you with their complexity.

Amazingly CGI was not used at all, except for the dinosaurs (wait, what? oh yeah, there are dinosaurs. but i thought it was about family dynamics and the struggle between nature and grace. sure, that’s in there, but also dinosaurs too.)

Visual effects genius Douglas Trumbul, who worked on the film, said:

“We worked with chemicals, paint, fluorescent dyes, smoke, liquids, CO2, flares, spin dishes, fluid dynamics, lighting and high speed photography to see how effective they might be.”

Effective they were.

Also, one song kind of struck my fancy (the song in the above video). I looove melodramatic music.

The Tree of Life Soundtrack – Lacrimosa

2 thoughts on “Tree of Life Visualizes the Cosmos Without CGI

Leave a Reply

