Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

I got a Kindle almost a year ago.  And, what a shame, I only used it for the wi-fi. UNTIL, I went to Italy and I was like “Oh right, I should finally use this useful tool so that I have entertainment for the airplane and train.”  Weirdly enough, the library limits the number of ebook copies that can be checked out at once, so there was a waiting list for all the popular books and well-known authors.  I poked around a little until I found a book with really good ratings.  It was called “Attachments” by Rainbow Rowell. (Her blog is here.)

“Attachments” is a fantastic book.  It is sweet, poignant, romantic, and insanely hilarious. Like, laugh out loud, look like a crazy person, tell all your friends about it HILARIOUS.

What is it about?

“Attachments” takes place right around Y2K, although it was written recently and  published just this year. Two friends, Jennifer and Beth, work for a newspaper and email each other all day, chatting about life, relationships, and Jason Bateman.  Their conversations are so funny and realistic, I swear, I felt like I was reading email exchanges I’ve had with my friends.

Lincoln, a down-and-out guy who feels like his life is one giant rut, is hired by the newspaper to monitor company emails for red-flags, like gambling or evidence of time wasting.  Jennifer and Beth’s emails pop-up and Lincoln, just like the reader, is captivated. He starts to fall for Beth, but has no idea how to introduce himself: “Hi, we’ve never met, but I’ve been spying on your emails for weeks and I’ve fallen in love with you?” Face palm.

This romantic comedy, about friendship, love, and courage, is one of the best books I’ve ever read and it is a zillion times better than the Stephanie Plum or Shopaholic series (and, guilty, I’ve read all of both of them).

Go read the excerpts on Amazon!  Here is a tiny one:

Jennifer to Beth:  I think I’m pregnant.

Beth to Jennifer:  What?  Why do you think you’re pregnant?

Jennifer to Beth:  I had three drinks last Saturday.

Beth to Jennifer:  I think we need to have a little talk about the birds and the bees. That’s not exactly how it happens.

Jennifer to Beth:  Whenever I have too much to drink, I start to feel pregnant.  I think it’s because I never drink, and it would just figure that the one time I decide to loosen up, I get pregnant.  Three hours of weakness, and now I’m going to spend the rest of my life wrestling with the special needs of a fetal alcoholic.

Beth to Jennifer:  I don’t think they call them that.

Boom. Mic drop. And I only used this excerpt because it was easily available.  I don’t have my copy anymore so I couldn’t mine through it to find the best, most funny parts.

There are also “deleted scenes” on Rowell’s website.  This one, about Beth’s secret love for Data from Star Trek is priceless. This one, about Lincoln getting the job at the newspaper, demonstrates his relationship with his slightly overbearing mother.

I am ordering my copy today, and you should too! Or at least try to get it from your library!

Leave a Reply

